Día de los Muertos

Día de los Muertos us fast approaching and we already begun talking about its significance among many cultures. I taught the 2nd graders all about the significance of the ¨Flor de Cempasúchil.¨ They even helped me make a bunch of flores de Cempasúchil for my bulletin board. We discussed how the flower is important during this holiday. I am attaching a picture of the bulletin board so you can enjoy the beautiful flowers they made as well. As Hispanic Heritage Month comes to an end we are excited to celebrate Día de los Muertos and learn more Spanish!

img_4392

3rd, 4th and 5th grade are nearly done with the capital and country sections! Each classroom will take the country and capital quiz their 3rd class this week. I am excited and eager to see their progress! Next week will be the final country sections. They will be required to match the country, capital and flag to the correct place on the map.

In addition to the many sections we are learning in class we have begun learning about Las palabras Interrogativas. I am attaching a list here so you can learn with your student 🙂
las-palabras-interrogativas
We even made our own ¨flashcards” in 2nd grade and played a game with them at our desks.
differentiated-flashcards

In 3rd and 4th grade we are also beginning to work on our Día de los Muertos videos and incorporating all of the palabras interrogativas. So far they have had time in 2 class periods to work in their assigned groups. These projects will be done in class and no work will be taken home on this specific assignment.

Again, I truly love working with your students and I eagerly anticipate watching them grow in an understanding of the language and culture! I am attaching another image of myself and 2 of the other Hispanic employees at Quest as we demonstrate our pride for HISPANIC HERITAGE MONTH!
viva-mexico

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *